2022-2023 School Calendar

Spuyten Duyvil generally follows the school closings of the NYC Dept of Ed.

On site family events are included but are tentative pending DOE/DOH/CDC updated health guidelines as the year progresses. ** requires active parent participation

Download / Print Calendar

DatesEvents
Tuesday, September 6Teachers Return
Tuesday, Sept. 6   4:30-6 pm3K Meet and Greet in school
Wednesday, Sept. 7  4:30-6 pm4K Meet and Greet in school
Thursday, Sept. 8- Friday, Sept. 9School Begins – Orientation schedule to follow (all students 1-1 ½ hr. attendance)
Monday, Sept. 12Full Day Schedule begins for all children
Mon, Sept. 26 – Tues, Sept. 27Rosh Hashanah    NO SCHOOL
Wednesday, Oct. 5Yom Kippur    NO SCHOOL
Sept. 21, 22, 28Back-in-school Curriculum Nights – all remote -dates TBA
Monday, October 10Indigenous Peoples Day – NO SCHOOL
All NovemberPopcorn Sale Fundraiser **
Tuesday, November 8Election Day- school in session  
School Picture Day- held in beautiful school yard
Friday, Nov 11Veterans’ Day    NO SCHOOL
Wednesday, Nov. 234K   Share Luncheon in each class
Thurs, Nov. 24 – Friday, Nov. 25Thanksgiving Break    NO SCHOOL
Weeks of Nov. 28 – Dec. 2Fall Family Conferences – combination in school & remote
Mon, Dec  26– Mon,  Jan. 2, 2023Winter Recess    NO SCHOOL   return on Tues. Jan. 3, 2022
Friday, January 13Half Day School-
12 noon dismissal for Staff Development
Monday, January 16SCHOOL Open make-up day 1
Friday, January 20Family Movie Night   6-9 pm
Mon, Feb. 20 – Friday, February 24Midwinter Recess   NO SCHOOL  return 2/27 ~ 
                            Vacation SCIENCE Camp
Friday, March 17Full day school including early/aftercare
Friday, March 24Family Movie Night   6-9 pm
Sunday, April 3 or April 30
(depending on the weather)
Family Potluck & Garden Party      11am – 2pm   **
Thurs, April 6 –  Fri, April 7SCHOOL Open make-up day 2 and 3
Mon, April 10 – Fri, April 14SPRING BREAK – No regular school 
ART VACATION CAMP available
Friday, April 21SCHOOL Open make-up day 4
Week of April 23 – April 28Spring Family Conferences – combination in school & remote
Monday, May 29Memorial Day –  NO SCHOOL
Thurs, June 1 – Fri, June 2Mini Mall **
Monday, June 19SCHOOL Open make-up day 5
Fri, June 23;
Mon, June 26 – Wed, June 28
SCHOOL Open make-up days 6-9 – last regular day of school is Wed, June 28
Thursday, June 29Stepping Up Day – 1 hour ceremony for each class; no early/aftercare; make-up day 10.

There will be no school closing due to Snow Days as there will be instructional time set up on Zoom for 3K and 4K students. This calendar meets the requirements set by the NYC DOE with 180 days of school.